Plaid's candidates for Aberystwyth Town Council

Plaid Cymru are putting up a record number of candidates for the Town Council elections in Aberystwyth

The figure of 14 nominations for the 19 seats on the Council beats their previous record set at the last elections in 2008

Plaid’s 14 candidates are:

Bronglais (4 seats) - Endaf Edwards, Chris Griffiths, Sue Jones-Davies, Alun Williams
(One Lib Dem also standing)

Canol/Central (3 seats) - Lefi Gruffudd, Carys Morgan, Carys Ann Thomas
(Two Lib Dems also standing)

Gogledd/North (3 seats) - Dafydd ap Franc, Jeff Smith, Mark Strong
(One Independent also standing)

Penparcau (5 seats)  - Steve Davies, Mererid Jones, Kevin Price
(Two Lib Dems, one Independent and one Conservative also standing)

Rheidol (4 seats) - Brian Davies
(Three Lib Dems & one Independent also standing)

The candidate figures for the other parties are: Lib Dems 8 (down from 14 last time), Independents 3 (up from 2), Conservatives 1 (down from 3).

Meanwhile, half a mile down Llanbadarn Road road, Llanbadarn Fawr Community Council has already elected 13 councillors unopposed. Plaid councillors are:
Padarn Ward - Gareth Davies
Sulien Ward - Mark Hemingway, Paul James, Stephanie Lennon and Dafydd Pritchard.

Heading up Penglais Hill, on Faenor Community Council (Waun Fawr and Comins Coch), 10 councillors have been elected unopposed, including Terry Lambden from Plaid.

Both the Town Council and County Council elections will be held on Thursday  3rd May. Full candidate lists are available here